Current Crew

You are here

Past Crew

Current Committee Members

Iris Steine

Iris Steine

Iris M. Steine is a visiting postdoctoral researcher at the UC Berkeley Department of Psychology, where she does research on long-term health consequences of adverse childhood experiences. She is passionate about science, science communication, nature, traveling, live music and interacting with people from all over the world.




Darryl Diptee

Darryl is a doctoral student at UC Berkeley's Graduate School of Education. When he's not mentally reworking blueprints for a time machine or innovating a cure for cancer (seriously, no joke), you'll find him in his lab researching how we might keep minority students in the STEM pipeline to increase the diversity of our STEM workforce. Darryl is always happy to talk about anything STEM, so hit him up! Go Science!



 Luis Ruiz Pestana

Luis is a postdoc at UC Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, working with Teresa Head-Gordon. He uses molecular simulation techniques to study a variety of problems ranging from radioactive ion exchange in clays, to how chemical reactions are affected by nanoconfinement, or how amyloids aggregate into fibrils. Luis enjoys hiking, playing soccer, the wine region, and teaching 2nd graders about sound! .





Elena Lichtenthaler

Elena is a visiting PhD student analyzing China’s food security policies. She is an avid advocate for science communication and always interested in connecting research with the outside academia world. Elena enjoys singing, playing improv and traveling by bicycle, last from Florida to Berkeley.


Martin Lichtenthaler

Martin is a Visiting Scholar in the Arnold group at UC Berkeley. In his research, he is focusing on early transition metals and f-block chemistry. Beyond communicating his findings to the general public, Martin enjoys practicing improv, playing the violin, and traveling (e.g. sailing across the Atlantic Ocean).